🚧 Sorry! Parts of my site are still under construction. 🚧

If you have any questions, please view my temporary portfolio HERE and contact me directly at michelleytlock@gmail.com!

I am a UX/UI designer currently based in Hong Kong πŸ‡­πŸ‡°

Download Resume

Hi I'm Michelle!

My goals are:

To design experiences that tell stories.
To always be creative and encourage creativity around me.
To be part of a team and culture that inspire each other while learning from each other.
Michelle Lock

Professional Experience

Topix Media LabNew York, NY
Assistant Art Director March ’18 - May ’19

Planned and created company's first book designs (including covers and interiors), leading to a slate of adult and children's books every season, every year

Senior Graphic Designer October ’16 - March ’18

Improved company's book and magazine sales by researching cover trends in collaboration with business department

Enhanced storytelling in publications with designs that contributed to content

Graphic Designer June ’15 - October ’16

Led the design of several magazines simultaneously by creating templates to guide overall typography, color and style

Ibis YearbookCoral Gables, FL
Design Director August ’13 - May ’15

Art directed and led design of two 480-page yearbooks, resulting in awards for the university

Educational Experience

IronhackRemote
Full-Stack Web Developer Bootcamp July ’20

9-week full-time web development bootcamp

Designed and coded full-stack Javascript web applications

Learned how to think like a programmer and how to deconstruct complex problems

CareerFoundryRemote
UX/UI Design January ’20

Cultivated user-centered problem-solving design abilities and learned how to makes products and services more accessible and intuitive

Focused on research, information architecture, wireframing, prototyping and usability testing

University of MiamiCoral Gables, FL
Bachelor of Science in Communications and Graphic Design 2011 - 2015

Learned design principles and fundamentals of visual graphic design

More About Me

πŸ‡­πŸ‡° Current Location:

I live in Hong Kong. Other cities I've lived in are ShanghaiπŸ₯Ÿ , Miami🌴 , and New YorkπŸ—½ .

🌏 Origins:

I grew up as a TCK (third culture kid born in Hong KongπŸ‡­πŸ‡° , raised in ShanghaiπŸ‡¨πŸ‡³ , attended American international schoolπŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ). I was lucky enough to experience many different cultures.

✈️ Travel:

I've been to 18 countries. I love learning about different cultures and experiencing new cuisines.

Me at Joshua Tree Dec 2019
🍜 Food:

I love eating everything and anything, except olives and eggplant. Check out my food Instagram here.

Berry Waffle Instagram
πŸ—£οΈ Languages:

I can speak English, Cantonese and Mandarin. I am currently learning French and Korean.

πŸ“š Reading:

I'm trying to read 100 books this year. I love reading fiction, biographies and the occasional mystery. This is what I'm reading right now.

🐟 Office Rep:

I am usually the office snack lady. I bought Costco-sized goldfish only, never regular-size. So I had a lot of goldfish to share.

🍽️ Restaurants:

I am the go-to restaurant recommender among my friends. I am known to obsessively (meticulously) star ⭐ restaurants on my Google Maps. I'm still working on my HK Google Map but if you want to see my NY one: here.

πŸ’» TV Shows:

I watch a lot of TV but my all-time favorite television show is The West Wing. I also love watching cooking shows like The Great British Bake Off.

🎡 Music

I love going to concerts and listening to music. My favorite artists are BTS and BeyoncΓ©.